The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor

31930640.jpg

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear? 

We all know them. Those who exist just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the back of our neck. The charmers. The liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go that one step too far. And then take another step.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes.

Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family . . .

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of HE SAID/SHE SAID, THE DANGEROUS KIND is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

My Review

The Dangerous Kind is 2019’s Gone Girl but even better!

Told mainly from four different view points the story follows Jessamine, a radio presenter, her adopted daughter Sarah, Jitesh an intern at the BBC radio studios in present day London and Rowena in 2003.

Each with their own plot lines that slowly becomes ever increasingly entwined culminating into a finale worthy of a Hollywood blockbuster.

As Jessamine begins an unofficial investigation into missing woman Cassie, a suspected victim of domestic abuse, the trail begins to spiral into an even greater darkness taking her further and further down the proverbial rabbit hole.

As well as domestic abuse she uncovers some terrifyingly plausible crimes involving the exploitation of young people in care by people in authority, people in positions of trust, even a celebrity, how far they will go to keep their depravities secret and the effects it takes on victims, abusers and their families. It will instinctively bring to mind Rolf Harris and Jimmy Savile which makes this even more hard-hitting.

I have to say though, even though the storyline is centred around such horrific acts it is written and portrayed brilliantly, enough detail to bring the story and its characters to life without the need for graphic details. It is handled with an iron fist in a velvet glove and the writing style is so sublime the pages just keep on turning at a rate of knots.

And then of course – the obligatory plot twist and what a twist it is! As clichéd as that is it doesn’t take away the fact that this particular twist was an absolute stunner! I still can’t believe I didn’t see it coming or even where it came from! And just like that, it all makes perfect sense!

If you read one psychological thriller in 2019, my advice, make sure it is this one!

Now I will keep a keen eye out for the film that surely must follow!

The Dangerous Kind is set to be published on the 16 May 2019 in the UK and can be preordered now.

Many thanks to the author Deborah O’Connor, publishers Bonnier Zaffre and NetGalley for my copy in exchange for an honest, independent review.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s