Cut and Run by Mary Burton

Twin sisters separated by the past are reunited by unspeakable crimes in New York Times bestselling author Mary Burton’s throat-clutching novel of suspense…

Trauma victims are not new to medical examiner Faith McIntyre, but this one is different. The unconscious woman clinging to life after a hit and run is FBI agent Macy Crow. What the woman from Quantico was doing in a dark alley after midnight is just one mystery. The other is more unsettling: Macy is Faith’s mirror image—the twin sister she never knew she had.

Faith knew that she was adopted, but now she’s finding that her childhood concealed other secrets. Following the trail of clues Macy left behind, Faith and Texas Ranger Mitchell Hayden make a shocking discovery on an isolated country ranch—a burial ground for three women who disappeared thirty years before.

They weren’t the only victims in a killer’s twisted plot. And they won’t be the last.

As the missing pieces of Faith’s and Macy’s dark lives snap into place, Faith is becoming more terrified by what she sees—and by what she must do to save her sister and herself from the past.

My Review

As always Mary Burton delivers with a cracking breakneck speed thriller that demands to be devoured in one sitting!

If you are familiar with Mary Burton’s work Cut and Run won’t disappoint and if you aren’t then this book will have you itching to get your hands on her previous books. From start to finish there is not one dull moment and enough revelations and plot twists to have you second guessing leaving traces of doubt as to who is masterminding the sickening crimes.

A brutal murder of a man who has been tortured, a hit and run that leaves a FBI agent in critical condition, a missing pregnant young girl, all seemingly connected somehow to medical examiner Faith McIntyre. And if that wasn’t enough for her to deal with it becomes apparent that other historical cases are also connected. But how, why and who will take some seriously dark and twisted turns to make the pieces all fit together.

Faith is a brilliant`protagonist and alongside Texas Ranger Mitchell Hayden their characters and relationship was great, but for me Kat, the troubled teen stole the show. With a chip on her shoulder, hormonal and a touch of a rebellious nature, there is just something about her that is endearing with glimpses of the bright young lady she will become.

The characters are all interesting and have you invested in each of them. I would love there to be a follow-up to this book so we could go back and see how they are all fairing up and what life has in store for them next.

I throughly enjoyed this book and it is definitely one i would recommend, don’t be deterred by the romantic suspense category, romance certainly isn’t the plots core. It is one for fans of Karen Rose and Karin Slaughter.

Cut and Run is out on 9th October 2019 and can be pre-ordered now from the link below

 

Thank you to Mary Burton, the publishers Montlake and NetGalley for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s