Hunted (The Voices Book 2) by G X Todd

cover127608-medium

The birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds sense the red skies are coming.

One man is driven by an inner voice that isn’t his – this Other is chewing at his sanity like a jackal with a bone and has one purpose.

To find the voice hiding in the girl.

She has no one to defend her now.

But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find the girl, Lacey . . . before the Other does.

And finish the work his sister Ruby began.

Hunted is the second book in the acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil holds you in its vice-like grip.

#HearTheVoices

Hunted by G X Todd is the second novel in the Voices series, highlighted as being ‘of a piece with Stephen King’s The Stand’ in the Independent. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.

My Review

It’s now 5:36am and I have given up on sleep! I put this book down several times and tried to sleep but my little brain just couldn’t silence the voices!! 🙂 So I read a few more chapters, tried again, same result so now I have finished the book! My poor eyes are burning and feel like they are bleeding! A little over dramatic maybe but still true!

I have coveted this book for months after picking up a copy of the first book Defender and being completely sucked in by it, but now I kinda wish I had waited until the series was complete before reading them!! Hunted was published in May 2018 and now the wait for book three feels like an eternity away!

Other than to say how utterly brilliant this book is I don’t want to say too much about the story line as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone! ( I would be mad if someone let slip vital pieces of the story before I’d read it! ) There were several plot twists I didn’t expect which is always good and not an easy feat to accomplish as normally with some genre of books they follow similar paths. But this one has its own unique take on an apocalyptic world and the people left in it.

It is as good, if not better than the first book and that one was in a class of its own, so if you enjoyed Defender, Hunted will sweep you away. Honestly! It’s that good!

Roll on book three as Hunted ends on an apocalyptic cliff hanger!

You can grab a copy now below and then join me and thousands of other people in the wait for book three!

My review for the first book Defender can also be found here – Defender by G X Todd

A huge thank you to the author GX Todd, publishers Headline and NetGalley for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest and independent review.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s