A Kiss Before Killing by Keith McCarthy

cover124055-medium

As written in the book description: This is not for the faint-hearted reader

Book description

Each man kills the thing he loves…

Edward Marsham is admitted to the Royal Infirmary having hung himself in his prison cell.

As predicted, he dies.

In the wake of several unexpected deaths at the hospital, however, Dr. Claire Woodforde suspects there is a killer amongst the staff. As Detective Chief Inspector Beverley Wharton and her new sergeant Tom Bayes begin to investigate Marsham’s death, they too start to wonder if it was natural or whether someone…

helped him along.

But as they start to make headway on the case, something much more sinister comes to light.

A body is found in an empty house.

A body without its limbs. And head.

Dr. John Eisenmenger is tasked with examining the torso to uncover clues which will lead to its identity and cause of death; a grisly job even for the most hardened of pathologists.

But as the investigation unfolds, the team discovers that there is much, much worse to come, and in addition, there is growing suspicion that there is a link between the two cases.

This not-for-the-faint-hearted crime thriller shines a light into the darkest recesses of the human soul.

Fans of Patricia Cornwell, Tami Hoag and Tess Gerritsen will be hooked on A Kiss Before Killing.

 

I have just realised that this book is number 11 in a long-running series! And I have not read ANY of the previous books!
Reading this book as a standalone works but I feel I would have been more invested in this book if I had read the series in the proper order.

Keith McCarthy, is himself a practicing pathologist and knows a great deal about cadavers and forensics and there is a lot of detail about the dissection of bodies so there are parts of this book which gets a bit grisly with plenty of twists and turns to keep you reading.

I think that the realism added by the author from his own  experience with the medical aspects added to the book and gives it an edge on other books in this genre.

I will definitely be recommending this book to my friends and I will go back and start at book 1 when i get chance.

This book was released on 28 Aug. 2017 can be purchased now from

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s